Right place at the right time.

28 Jun

So last week I was sitting with two friends having a little lunch when we were approached by three girls who were looking for replacement models. Giggling and not taking it very seriously we decided to take up the offer of modelling in a fashion show that was due to start in three hours. As two of us were tall enough we were quickly snapped up by a scary women who seemed to be directing the show. It was so weird being rushed into hair and make-up, measured, fitted and pushed onto the runway to perfect our walk and turn  all within 45 minutes. Time flew and before I knew it both of us were modelling before an audience and posing for pictures, nerve-racking yes! As most of the other girls had modelled before we felt slightly pressured and needed to perform up to standard, seen as we were amateurs to the profession. The other models were lovely and we made friends with them quite easily. The show felt like it was over in no time and I was actually quite upset because I wanted to do it again and again.

Three days later I got a phone call from one of the designers asking whether I would be interested in modelling again for the VIP fashion show where press and other designers would be present, I was so excited and of course couldn’t refuse. All weekend I was thinking about the show and wondering what I would wear and was practising in my heels. The big day arrived and I went to pick up my friend, both of us happy yet shocked that both of us got called back over girls who had been modelling either professionally or longer than us. The day was great and ran smoothly, it felt lovely to have your own dresser and get pampered and made up for the day. The outfits were amazing and the experience was great. I would love to do it again, as soon as I get the pictures I think I may even start seeing if any modelling agencies are interested.

If it wasn’t for my quick lunch break that day I would never of had this opportunity – ‘right place at the right time’

Leave a Reply

